Hello! I haven’t been reading nearly as fast recently as I have in the first two months of the year. That being said, I’ve still completed 34 books so far this year. This review is from a few weeks back, and well… it’s not quite time for a holiday read, but to be fair the book wasn’t very Christmassy… anyway, here it is


  • Release date: December 10, 2020
  • Age demographic: Adult
  • Genre: Mystery

Synopsis

Immerse yourself in TWELVE MOTIVES FOR MURDER, perfect for fans of KNIVES OUT and Agatha Christie.

TWELVE SUSPECTS. TWELVE INTERVIEWS.
TWELVE MOTIVES FOR MURDER . . .

This Christmas, sit back and become a real armchair detective.
A murder mystery told entirely through interviews.
Private Investigator Elizabeth Chalice needs YOU to help her solve this case.

It’s a beautiful Christmas day in Como, and the Caswell-Jones family are celebrating with their nearest and dearest in their Villa Janus. Merriment and limoncello abound . . .

That is, until Jonty Caswell-Jones is found dead in his study. With no staff today, the only suspects are the guests and the family. Under the surface, tensions have been brewing, guests seething, and rivalries have reared their ugly head . . .

Jonty’s wife, Catherine, knows there’s a killer among them so she calls her acquaintance, Elizabeth Chalice, to investigate. She wants to keep this firmly within the family if she can. No one else must know.

As each suspect is interviewed in turn, Elizabeth must work out who killed Jonty and why. And is anyone else in danger? But with twelve suspects each with their own very clear motive, anything is possible . . .

My thoughts

I have been plagued recently with mediocre reads. Twelve Motives for Murder is your typical whodunit murder mystery and I knew it full well going into it. Just because it’s typical, doesn’t mean it can’t be enjoyable.

What has drawn me in was the format of this book – it’s written as a play. It’s definitely a nice and unusual way to frame this kind of a story. We follow a main character, an investigator, who is called to a wealthy family’s home on Christmas to uncover a murderer, after the head of the family was found dead in his office.

Told in a series of interviews, with the main character addressing the reader and therefore breaking the fourth wall, it is quite a unique read, but sadly the characters and mystery itself didn’t work for me at all. I found them all to be quite insufferable and the “mystery” unconvincing and rather forced.

I flew through the book, sure, because the format was very easy to read, but it is not a book that will stay with me for a while.

Rating and recommendations

For fans of:

Agatha Christie, classic whodunit stories


That is it for today. Thanks for reading!

Talk soon!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s